H.R. No. 1031

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The love of liberty that helped to shape our
- 2 constitution has deep roots in the spirit of ancient Greece, and as
- 3 we observe Greek Independence Day, we celebrate the timeless
- 4 democratic principles that we cherish; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In 1821, our nation supported the cause of Greek
- 6 independence when the brave men and women of Greece began their long
- 7 struggle for liberty, and on the anniversary of the Greek
- 8 Declaration of Independence, we honor the courage of those proud
- 9 patriots; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The story of Greek military tactics used at the
- 11 Battle of Marathon in 490 B.C. is still mandatory reading at the
- 12 National War College in Washington, D.C.; Greek soldiers were with
- 13 U.S. Marines on the shores of Tripoli in the military operations
- 14 memorialized in the United States Marine Hymn; and
- WHEREAS, Greece's greatest legacy is the establishment of
- 16 democratic government, and today Greeks and Americans continue to
- 17 share a love of freedom, liberty, and individual rights; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Greek Americans have made significant contributions
- 19 to this state and country, and it is fitting that all Texans join in
- 20 celebrating this historic date while reaffirming the democratic
- 21 vision that gave birth to our two great nations; now, therefore, be
- 22 it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize March 25, 2009, as Greek Independence

H.R. No. 1031

1 Day: A Day of Celebration of Greek and American Democracy.

Bonnen

H.R. No. 1031

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

H.R	. No.	10	31

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1031 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House