H.R. No. 1033

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Historical Commission has recognized the 2 Congregation Beth Israel Cemetery in Houston as a Historic Texas
- 3 Cemetery, and the membership is celebrating this honor with the
- 4 dedication of a historical marker on April 26, 2009; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The cemetery was established in 1844, and a decade
- 6 later, 22 local citizens founded Hebrew Congregation Beth Israel,
- 7 the first Jewish congregation in Texas; the Jewish population of
- 8 Houston grew dramatically, along with the city, in the 20th
- 9 century, and in order to meet the needs of its burgeoning
- 10 membership, Beth Israel constructed new synagogues in 1908, 1925,
- 11 and 1967; the latter facility, renovated and expanded in the early
- 12 21st century, continues to serve the congregation today; and
- WHEREAS, Beth Israel marked a special milestone in 2004 with
- 14 the celebration of its sesquicentennial; the synagogue currently
- 15 serves more than 1,700 families and is led by Senior Rabbi David
- 16 Lyon; and
- WHEREAS, The Congregation Beth Israel Cemetery is the resting
- 18 place for individuals who shaped the city in ways both great and
- 19 small, and the volunteers who have researched and documented this
- 20 burial ground and those who have supported them in that effort have
- 21 performed a truly valuable service; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby commemorate the dedication of a Historic Texas
- 24 Cemetery marker at the Congregation Beth Israel Cemetery and extend

H.R. No. 1033

- 1 to all those involved with this project sincere appreciation for
- 2 their commitment to preserving the heritage of the Lone Star State;
- 3 and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Congregation Beth Israel as an expression of high
- 6 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Cohen

H.R.	No.	1033

.....

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1033 was adopted by the House on April 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House