H.R. No. 1035

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Dayton High School Broncos football team had an 2 exceptional 2008 season, reaching the University Interscholastic 3 League 4A Division 2 state championship game, an achievement never 4 previously attained by the school in the sport of football; and

5 WHEREAS, After starting the season with one win and one loss, 6 followed by a 25-day delay in their schedule caused by Hurricane 7 Ike, the Broncos reeled off 12 consecutive victories to earn their 8 spot in the state title game; and

9 WHEREAS, Sparked by the brilliant play of *Parade* All-America 10 wide receiver A. J. Dugat, Dayton's stellar 13-2 season included a 11 victory over C. E. King that clinched the District 19 crown, as well 12 as playoff victories over Livingston, Elgin, Rosenburg Terry, 13 Brenham, and Kerrville Tivy; and

WHEREAS, Even in defeat, the Broncos managed to make history in the state championship game, where they fell to Sulphur Springs by a score of 69-49 in a shootout that electrified the roaring crowd of 17,000 at the Alamodome in San Antonio; the two teams combined for an astounding 1,402 yards of offense and 63 first downs, while the 118 total points were the most ever recorded in a UIL 11-man football state final; and

21 WHEREAS, Ably guided by head coach and athletic director 22 Jerry Stewart, Dayton's dedicated student-athletes have earned the 23 respect and admiration of their many supporters in the community, 24 and the hard work and commitment to excellence that they

1

H.R. No. 1035 1 demonstrated throughout the year will serve them well in all of 2 their future endeavors; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 4 Legislature hereby congratulate the Dayton High School Broncos 5 football team on its outstanding 2008 season and extend to the 6 players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued 7 success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

Otto

H.R. No. 1035

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1035 was adopted by the House on April 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House