H.R. No. 1036

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Electric Reliability Council of Texas has been 2 recognized with an Annual Achievement Award from the Utility Wind 3 Integration Group for the innovative work of Warren Lasher and Dan 4 Woodfin; and

5 WHEREAS, Overcoming technical and other challenges, these 6 two men led the planning effort for one of the largest transmission 7 system improvement projects in the history of the United States; 8 and

WHEREAS, The potential of Texas' renewable energy depends on 9 the appropriate electric transmission infrastructure, and Mr. 10 11 Lasher and Mr. Woodfin conducted the transmission planning process 12 to implement Competitive Renewable Energy Zone legislation, which was passed in Texas in 2005; transmission planning is a critical 13 14 step on the way to harnessing environmentally sound forms of electric power generation that will ultimately lower energy costs, 15 enhance the state's environmental quality, and stimulate job 16 growth; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Mr. Lasher and Mr. Woodfin have contributed 19 significantly to the development of renewable energy transmission 20 infrastructure in Texas, bringing the state ever closer to meeting 21 the demands of a 21st century economy; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby commend Warren Lasher and Dan Woodfin of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas for their award-winning work

1

1 in behalf of renewable energy transmission infrastructure and 2 extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 3 further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for Mr. Lasher and Mr. Woodfin as an expression of high 6 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Swinford

H.R. No. 1036

H.R. No. 1036

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1036 was adopted by the House on March 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House