H.R. No. 1069

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Montgomery County Republican Women,
- 2 North Shore Republican Women, and Lake Conroe Area Republican Women
- 3 are gathering in Austin on April 16, 2009, to celebrate Texas
- 4 Federation of Republican Women Day at the Capitol; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Texas Federation of Republican Women was
- 6 established in San Antonio in October 1955; with more than 300
- 7 delegates present, the organizing convention was led by Mrs.
- 8 Malcolm Milburn, and it resulted in the election of Mrs. R. D.
- 9 O'Callaghan as the first president; in the 53 years since its
- 10 inception, the organization's membership has grown to include more
- 11 than 10,000 participants in 167 chapters throughout Texas; and
- 12 WHEREAS, With the goals of educating women on the political
- 13 process, electing Republican candidates, and encouraging women to
- 14 run for office, TFRW produces quarterly publications and hosts
- 15 regular meetings that cover such issues as health, crime, and the
- 16 economy; the organization also works closely with the Republican
- 17 Party to train volunteers and provide support for local and
- 18 statewide campaigns; and
- 19 WHEREAS, This notable organization embodies a spirit of
- 20 public engagement, and its members may indeed reflect with great
- 21 pride on the exemplary model of citizenship they have set for their
- 22 fellow Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby welcome the members of the Montgomery County

H.R. No. 1069

- 1 Republican Women, North Shore Republican Women, and Lake Conroe
- 2 Area Republican Women to the Capitol and extend to them sincere best
- 3 wishes for a memorable visit; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the groups as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Creighton

H.R.	No.	1069

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1069 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House