H.R. No. 1072

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Cougars football team of Reicher Catholic High 2 School in Waco captured the Texas Association of Private and 3 Parochial Schools Division 3 championship on December 6, 2008; and

WHEREAS, This storied football program has now taken home eight state titles in its history, including back-to-back championship victories in 2007 and 2008; during the 2008 season, the team lost its starting quarterback to injury for several games and still managed to rack up 10 wins on the season, including two shutouts and one 62-point triumph; and

WHEREAS, In their march to the state title, the Cougars 10 11 received valuable contributions from each member of the team: 12 Andrew Drennan, Stephen Harrison, Howie Grieve, Jameson Wells, Matthew Ordones, Cameron Owen, D. J. Dwyer, Paden Schulte, Josh 13 14 Sais, Kenneth Cluley, Shadowhawk Saldana, Ross Rasner, Jacob Wilson, Nick Castillo, Nick Martinez, Jonathan Harper, Tracer 15 McClinton, Matt Pineda, Keton Schulte, Isaac Gonzales, Rami Tamimi, 16 17 Cameron Erkfitz, Daniel Vaught, John Ekman, Ray Castro, Jonathan Young, Trent Hughes, Dylan Bagnasco, David Anderson, Dalton Morgan, 18 Hunter Tunmire, Tyler Ellis, Charlie Lashua, Chris Gerik, Austin 19 Simpson, Jonathan Hoxie, Tyler Vasser, Jonathan Stone, Greyson 20 21 Vela, Mark Ellis, Justin Dvorsky, Lance Tepe, Dylan Carmody, Michael Contella, Beau Bolfing, Parks Walker, Josh Wrzesinski, 22 23 Andrew Hostak, Eric Morales, and Juan Lizardo; and

24 WHEREAS, Reicher's gridiron athletes received outstanding

1

guidance from head coach Mark Waggoner during the 2008 campaign and
also benefited from the expertise of assistant coaches John Ryan,
David Wrzesinski, David Hurtado, Steve Smith, Nelson Castro, John
Armes, Adam Castillo, and Daniel Balderrama; and

5 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the 6 culmination of countless hours of hard work and determination, and 7 the members of the Reicher Catholic High School football team will 8 treasure the memory of this accomplishment for many years to come; 9 now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the Reicher Catholic High School 12 Cougars football team on winning its second consecutive TAPPS 13 Division 3 state championship and extend to the players, coaches, 14 and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 15 further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 18 House of Representatives.

Anderson

H.R. No. 1072

2

H.R. No. 1072

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1072 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House