H.R. No. 1092

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Reverend Mark J. Woodruff was honored by the
- 2 Heritage of Odessa Foundation with a 2009 Community Statesman Award
- 3 in recognition of his outstanding civic contributions; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Every year for the past quarter-century, the
- 5 Heritage of Odessa Foundation has paid tribute to individuals who
- 6 have excelled in their various fields and in their public service
- 7 endeavors; nominated by their fellow citizens and chosen by a
- 8 special committee, the 13 recipients have volunteered their time
- 9 and resources to support Odessa and its residents; in 2009, Father
- 10 Woodruff was selected for this accolade in the category of
- 11 religion; and
- 12 WHEREAS, This esteemed clergyman earned a master of divinity
- 13 degree in 1972 from St. Patrick's Seminary and University in Menlo
- 14 Park, California, and he was ordained as a priest that year at the
- 15 Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption in San Francisco; Father
- 16 Woodruff is a member of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre
- 17 of Jerusalem, and he has ministered faithfully to the congregants
- 18 of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic Parish in Odessa since 1996; he
- 19 is also a pastor at Our Lady of San Juan Mission; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Father Woodruff has demonstrated an unwavering
- 21 commitment to his vocation and to the city of Odessa, and his
- 22 compassion and generosity are an inspiration to all who know him;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 1092

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Reverend Mark J. Woodruff on
- 2 his receipt of a 2009 Community Statesman Award and extend to him
- 3 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Father Woodruff as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Lewis

H.R.	No.	1092

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1092 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House