H.R. No. 1097

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Bernadine Spears was honored by the Heritage of 2 Odessa Foundation with a 2009 Community Statesman Award in 3 recognition of her outstanding civic contributions; and

WHEREAS, Every year for the past quarter-century, 4 the 5 Heritage of Odessa Foundation has paid tribute to individuals who have excelled in their various fields and in their public service 6 endeavors; nominated by their fellow citizens and chosen by a 7 special committee, the 13 recipients have volunteered their time 8 9 and resources to support Odessa and its residents; in 2009, Mrs. Spears was selected for this accolade in the category of 10 11 government; and

12 WHEREAS, Since 1992, Mrs. Spears has served as the executive 13 director of the Housing Authority of Odessa, where she oversees 14 more than 20 staff members and a variety of programs and services; she is also on the boards of the Public Housing Authorities 15 16 Directors Association, the Texas chapter of the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials, and the Texas 17 Housing Association, and she is a member of the Community 18 Development Advisory Committee, the Bonham Junior High School 19 Campus Improvement Team, and the Rose of Sharon Missionary Baptist 20 21 Church; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to her profession and to the city of Odessa, and her compassion and generosity are an inspiration to all who know her;

1

H.R. No. 1097

1 now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Bernadine Spears on her receipt of 4 a 2009 Community Statesman Award and extend to her sincere best 5 wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mrs. Spears as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Lewis

H.R. No. 1097

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1097 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House