H.R. No. 1102

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. Gregory D. Williams was honored by the Heritage
- 2 of Odessa Foundation with a 2009 Community Statesman Award in
- 3 recognition of his outstanding civic contributions; and
- WHEREAS, Every year for the past quarter-century, the
- 5 Heritage of Odessa Foundation has paid tribute to individuals who
- 6 have excelled in their various fields and in their public service
- 7 endeavors; nominated by their fellow citizens and chosen by a
- 8 special committee, the 13 recipients have volunteered their time
- 9 and resources to support Odessa and its residents; in 2009, Dr.
- 10 Williams was selected for this accolade in the category of
- 11 education; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Gregory Williams earned his doctoral degree in
- 13 higher education administration from Baylor University, and he
- 14 currently serves as president of Odessa College; in this role, he
- 15 has increased the institution's outreach efforts through
- 16 partnerships with the United Way, Meals on Wheels, and the West
- 17 Texas Food Bank; Dr. Williams is also involved in the Odessa Chamber
- 18 of Commerce, the Texas Association of Community Colleges, and the
- 19 Education Foundation of the Ector County Independent School
- 20 District; and
- 21 WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan has demonstrated an unwavering
- 22 commitment to his profession and to the city of Odessa, and his
- 23 compassion and generosity are an inspiration to all who know him;
- 24 now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1102

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Gregory D. Williams on his
- 3 receipt of a 2009 Community Statesman Award and extend to him
- 4 sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Dr. Williams as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Lewis

H.F	₹.	No	1	1	0	2

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1102 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House