H.R. No. 1107

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Hutto are gathering in Austin on
April 1, 2009, to celebrate Hutto Day at the State Capitol; and

3 WHEREAS, Situated on the rich black lands of southwestern 4 Williamson County, Hutto is ideally located in close proximity to 5 Austin, Round Rock, and Georgetown; it rests adjacent to the 6 premier new highway project in the state, SH-130, and it is only 7 minutes away from the IH-35 NAFTA corridor; and

8 WHEREAS, This dynamic community perfectly balances its 9 small-town charm with expanding retail opportunities and a growing 10 park system; enjoying strong support from the town's residents, 11 Hutto's exceptional schools are growing at a rate of 20 percent each 12 year; and

WHEREAS, These fine amenities and Hutto's ready access to the high-tech, manufacturing, and service employers in Central Texas make it an excellent place to live; the town's population has soared in just nine years from 1,250 in 2000 to 17,120 today, and it has been cited as the fastest-growing community in Texas for two years in a row; and

WHEREAS, Hutto's educated workforce, highly motivated government, and welcoming business climate combine to make the community an ideal location for new enterprise; the winter 2008 issue of *Southern Business and Development* magazine recognized the town as one of the Top 10 Edge Markets and as one of the 100 Best Major Markets in the South to Locate Your Company; and

1

H.R. No. 1107

1 WHEREAS, Building on their town's rich rural heritage and its 2 small-town values of friendliness and industry, the people of Hutto 3 are looking toward a bright future for themselves and their 4 children; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 6 Legislature hereby recognize April 1, 2009, as Hutto Day at the 7 State Capitol and extend to the Hutto delegation sincere best 8 wishes for an enjoyable and informative visit.

Maldonado

H.R. No. 1107

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1107 was adopted by the House on April 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House