H.R. No. 1108

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives takes pride in
- 2 its public educators, who provide an invaluable service to the
- 3 people of this state; and
- WHEREAS, The Texas Retired Teachers Association represents
- 5 retired public education employees, 1,100 of whom are presently
- 6 gathering in Dallas for their 56th annual convention; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Members of this notable group continually work to
- 8 improve their local communities throughout the state, generously
- 9 donating nearly five million hours of service, a value equivalent
- 10 to over \$97 million; retired educators volunteer their time in
- 11 schools and promote lifelong learning, having provided more than
- 12 462,000 books to children through the Children's Book Project,
- 13 including nearly 82,000 in 2008 alone; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Retired Teachers Association
- 15 are conscious of the effect their health has on the world around
- 16 them and work to preserve the TRS-Care plan by reducing doctor
- 17 visits through their participation in the Walks-A-Million Program,
- 18 in which they have collectively taken over 28 billion steps toward
- 19 greater wellness; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Retiree annuity payments from the Teacher
- 21 Retirement System of Texas have exceeded \$6 billion, directly
- 22 creating 84,300 jobs in the Lone Star State; and
- 23 WHEREAS, The Texas Retired Teachers Association and its
- 24 membership of almost 70,000 members work diligently to protect

H.R. No. 1108

- 1 current and future public education retirees; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 29-April 4, 2009, as Texas
- 4 Retired Teachers Week; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Truitt

H.R. No. 1108

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1108 was adopted by the House on March 30, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House