## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Mary Ellen Weber of Dallas has contributed much 2 to the nation and the Lone Star State as an astronaut, scientist, 3 and academic administrator; and WHEREAS, A native of Cleveland, Ohio, Dr. Weber earned her 4 5 bachelor's degree in chemical engineering from Purdue University in 1984 and her doctorate in physical chemistry from the University of 6 7 California at Berkeley in 1988; she subsequently also received a master's degree in business administration from Southern Methodist 8 9 University in 2002; over the course of her career as a scientist and engineer, she has received a patent and published eight scientific 10 papers, and she has done important work on computer chips with Texas 11 12 Instruments, Applied Materials, and the SEMATECH consortium; and WHEREAS, In 1992, Dr. Weber was selected to become a member of 13 14 the 14th NASA astronaut group; the 30th woman to fly in space and one of the youngest astronauts in history, she served on two space 15 16 shuttle missions, logging more than 450 hours and circling the earth 297 times; on her first mission, she helped to launch a \$200 17 million communications satellite, and on her second, she helped to 18 install vital equipment on the International Space Station; and 19 WHEREAS, While at NASA, Dr. Weber also participated in 20 21 critical launch, landing, and testing operations at the Kennedy Space Center, tested shuttle flight software, and assisted in 22 23 developing training protocols and research facilities for the space station; in addition, she has helped to commercialize space 24

## H.R. No. 1113

- 1 technology, worked as the NASA legislative affairs liaison in
- 2 Washington, D.C., served as chair of the procurement board for the
- 3 Biotechnology Program contractor, and served on a NASA advisory
- 4 committee charged with counseling the agency on future
- 5 technologies; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Since leaving NASA in 2002, Dr. Weber has become
- 7 vice president of government affairs at The University of Texas
- 8 Southwestern Medical Center, where she oversees appropriations of
- 9 more than \$160 million in annual funding; deeply involved in the
- 10 community, she has served on the boards of the Museum of Natural
- 11 History and The Science Place, and she is a member of the Dallas
- 12 Committee on Foreign Relations; and
- WHEREAS, This dynamic woman is a champion skydiver, with 12
- 14 silver and bronze medals from the U.S. National Skydiving
- 15 Championships to her credit, as well as an instrument-rated pilot,
- 16 an avid golfer, and a scuba diver; moreover, she is a popular
- 17 motivational speaker; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The State of Texas is proud and fortunate to claim
- 19 this gifted individual as a citizen, and it is a privilege to
- 20 recognize her continuing exceptional record of accomplishment;
- 21 now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby commend Dr. Mary Ellen Weber on her many
- 24 impressive achievements and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 25 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 27 prepared for Dr. Weber as an expression of high regard from the

H.R. No. 1113

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Vaught

## H.R. No. 1113

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

H.R.	No.	1113

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1113 was adopted by the House on April 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House