H.R. No. 1136

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Culberson County are gathering in
- 2 Austin to celebrate Culberson County Day at the State Capitol on
- 3 March 31, 2009; and
- WHEREAS, Situated among the rugged, scenic mountains of the
- 5 Trans-Pecos region of West Texas, the county was originally home to
- 6 the fierce Mescalero Apaches; in 1859, a cavalry outpost was
- 7 established at the Van Horn Wells, one of the few reliable sources
- 8 of water in the area; the last Indian battle in the State of Texas
- 9 was fought in the region in 1881, at the mouth of Bass Canyon in the
- 10 Sierra Diablo mountains; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The town of Van Horn was founded in the late 1870s,
- 12 and in 1881 it became a stop on the Texas and Pacific Railway; and
- WHEREAS, Formed from El Paso County in 1911, Culberson County
- 14 was named for Civil War veteran and former U.S. congressman David B.
- 15 Culberson; Van Horn, by now a prosperous shipping point for cattle,
- 16 became the county seat; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Today, tourists are drawn to the region by its
- 18 austere beauty and colorful history; the county is the gateway to
- 19 Guadalupe Mountains National Park, a haven for hikers and nature
- 20 lovers and home to the highest mountain in Texas, Guadalupe Peak;
- 21 hunters are drawn by the mule deer, pronghorn antelope, and upland
- 22 game birds; and
- 23 WHEREAS, The Culberson County Historical Museum in the
- 24 historic Clark Hotel in Van Horn tells the region's story through

H.R. No. 1136

- 1 displays of Indian and pioneer artifacts, and picturesque buildings
- 2 such as the Presbyterian Church and the former El Capitan Hotel, now
- 3 the Van Horn State Bank, vividly evoke the town's past; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy such annual
- 5 events as the Culberson County Stock Show in January and the Texas
- 6 Mountain Art Seminar, Show, and Sale in March; the Frontier Days and
- 7 Rodeo in June has been a Van Horn tradition for 110 years, and the
- 8 Old Car Festival in August draws 100 classic cars every year; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Blessed with great natural beauty and a rich
- 10 history, the people of Culberson County may indeed take great pride
- 11 in their unique contribution to the heritage and culture of the Lone
- 12 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby recognize March 31, 2009, as Culberson County
- 15 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 16 sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and informative stay in
- 17 Austin.

Gallego

H.R. No. 1136

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Η.	R.	No.	- 1	1	3	6

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1136 was adopted by the House on March 31, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House