H.R. No. 1140

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Brazos Bend State Park Volunteer Organization is 2 marking its 20th anniversary in 2009; and 3 WHEREAS, Recognizing the significant contributions they could make to their local state park, a group of dedicated men and 4 5 women formed the Brazos Bend State Park Volunteer Organization in 1989; the park now benefits greatly from the organization's Nature 6 7 Center Gift Shop and from grants and other donations to the group that together generated more than \$450,000 in 2008 alone; and 8 WHEREAS, Members of the Brazos Bend State Park Volunteer 9 Organization, who attend intensive semiannual training, provided 10 11 nearly 20,000 hours of invaluable service last year; in addition to 12 staffing the Nature Center, they led interpretive programs, conducted outreach events, and hosted on-site special events, and 13 14 they spend many hours of physical labor maintaining the facility and trails, managing resources, and controlling vegetation; and 15 WHEREAS, For its exceptional work, the Brazos Bend State Park 16 Volunteer Organization was honored with the 2000 Texas Parks and 17 Wildlife Department's Lone Star Legends "Partnership" Award; and 18 WHEREAS, The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and citizens 19 of the Lone Star State are fortunate to have this hardworking and 20 21 committed group of individuals to serve as stewards and advocates for Brazos Bend State Park; now, therefore, be it 22

Legislature hereby commend all those associated with the Brazos

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

23

24

H.R. No. 1140

- 1 Bend State Park Volunteer Organization for the many contributions
- 2 they have made to the park and extend to them congratulations on
- 3 their 20th anniversary celebration; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Olivo

H.R	. No.	1140

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1140 was adopted by the House on April 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House