H.R. No. 1149

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Memories of a life filled with joyful times and 2 meaningful accomplishments remain to comfort the family and friends 3 of Alma "Mozelle" Thomas of Potosi, who passed away on March 7, 4 2009, at the age of 88; and

5 WHEREAS, A native of the Lone Star State, Mozelle Thomas was 6 born in Dickens County on August 26, 1920, the eldest of 12 7 children; she grew up in Spur and graduated from the local high 8 school; and

9 WHEREAS, In 1962, Mrs. Thomas began a distinguished career 10 with Taylor County when she accepted a position as assistant 11 treasurer of the county; she was elected county treasurer in 1970, 12 and served four terms before retiring in 1986; during her exemplary 13 tenure, the Taylor County Coliseum and the present Taylor County 14 Courthouse were built; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Thomas loved to travel and was a faithful member of Wylie Baptist Church, where she was active in the People Enjoying People club and the Retired and Senior Volunteer Program; she also enjoyed participation in the Texas Retired Treasurer's Association, the Family and Community Education Club, and the Potosi Quilting Club; and

21 WHEREAS, Devoted to her family, she was a loving wife to her 22 husband, the late Hayden Thomas, and a caring mother to her 23 children, Russell and Marilyn; and

24

WHEREAS, Mozelle Thomas provided an outstanding example of

1

1 citizenship and service to others, and while she will be greatly 2 missed, the legacy she leaves behind will not soon be forgotten; 3 now, therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 5 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Alma "Mozelle" Thomas and extend sincere sympathy to the members of her family: to her 6 son, Russell Thomas, and his wife, Connie; to her daughter, Marilyn 7 8 Swilling, and her husband, Scott; to her brothers, Max and Neal Holloway; to her sisters, Lois Lusko, Jean Peters, and Jane 9 10 Colburn; to her grandchildren, Travis Thomas and his wife, Kim, Tami Hull and her husband, Ted, Trent Thomas and his wife, Brittney, 11 12 and Rain Davis and her husband, Nick; to her two step-grandchildren, Jeremy and Kelly Swilling; to her seven 13 14 great-grandchildren, Hunter and Hannah Hull, Jurnee, Tripp, and Ketch Miles Thomas, and Sky and Shada Davis; and to her other 15 relatives and many friends; and, be it further 16

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 19 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Alma 20 "Mozelle" Thomas.

King of Taylor

H.R. No. 1149

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 1149

Menendez

3

H.R. No. 1149

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1149 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 1, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House