H.R. No. 1151

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, With the passage of H.B. 1045 during the 80th
- 2 Legislative Session, the Texas Legislature designated April as
- 3 Child Safety Month in the State of Texas; and
- WHEREAS, Children and adolescents are at high risk for many
- 5 injuries that can lead to death or disability; in 2002,
- 6 unintentional injury was the leading cause of death among young
- 7 people ages 1 through 19 and the sixth leading cause of death among
- 8 infants; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The most common causes of fatal injuries among
- 10 children ages 1 to 14 across the United States in 2002 were motor
- 11 vehicle accidents, drowning, and fire, respectively, with
- 12 poisoning and falls also ranking high on the list; among children up
- 13 to 14 years of age, it is estimated that traumatic brain injuries
- 14 annually cause more than 2,500 deaths, some 37,000
- 15 hospitalizations, and approximately 435,000 visits to an emergency
- 16 room; and
- 17 WHEREAS, It is vital that adults who care for children
- 18 understand children's vulnerability to accidents and take measures
- 19 to remove or avoid potential threats; many lives can be saved by
- 20 such commonsense measures as the use of smoke alarms, seat belts,
- 21 bicycle helmets, and safety and booster seats, and by not leaving
- 22 children unattended in vehicles or around even shallow water; as
- 23 children grow older, in addition to being guarded from harm, they
- 24 need to be taught how to look out for their own safety; and

H.R. No. 1151

- 1 WHEREAS, Child Safety Month provides an excellent
- 2 opportunity to raise awareness about a crucial public health issue,
- 3 and efforts to promote child safety in the Lone Star State are to be
- 4 commended and encouraged; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize April 2009 as Child Safety Month in
- 7 Texas.

Truitt

Η.	R.	No.	115	1
- T T .	T (•	110.	エエン	_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1151 was adopted by the House on April 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House