H.R. No. 1157

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. Lalitha M. Janaki of Corpus Christi is one of
- 2 only eight Texas physicians and the only Nueces County resident to
- 3 be named a Fellow of the American College of Radiology; and
- WHEREAS, A native of India, Dr. Janaki earned her medical
- 5 degree from Osmania University and, after immigrating to the United
- 6 States in 1975, she received her radiation oncology training at
- 7 Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center in Chicago; she went on to
- 8 serve as assistant chief at Walter Reed Army Medical Center in the
- 9 department of radiation oncology before practicing in Corpus
- 10 Christi; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Dr. Janaki has also served this country as a colonel
- 12 in the U.S. Armed Forces; her 16-year military tenure has included
- 13 both active and reserve duty, as well as service in Operation Desert
- 14 Storm; and
- WHEREAS, Through the years, this notable physician has held a
- 16 number of professional leadership positions, including service as
- 17 president of the Nueces County Medical Society and delegate of the
- 18 Texas Medical Association, and her outstanding work has been
- 19 honored with a YWCA career award; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Janaki's dedication to the well-being of others
- 21 is indeed deserving of the respect, gratitude, and admiration of
- 22 her fellow citizens, and we join them in saluting her latest
- 23 accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 1157

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Lalitha M. Janaki on being
- 2 named a Fellow of the American College of Radiology and extend to
- 3 her sincere best wishes for continued success with her important
- 4 work; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Dr. Janaki as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Hunter

H.R	No.	1157

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1157 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House