H.R. No. 1193

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Our esteemed colleague, Delwin L. Jones, 2 celebrating his birthday on April 2, and this occasion provides a welcome opportunity to recognize his years of outstanding service 3 to his constituents in House District 83 and to all Texans; and 4 5 WHEREAS, A graduate of Lubbock High School, Delwin Jones served his country as a member of the U.S. Air Force during World 6 7 War II before earning a bachelor's degree in accounting from Texas Tech University; he has enjoyed a long career in business and 8 9 farming, while remaining active in numerous community organizations, including the Lubbock Lions Club, the Lubbock County 10 11 Farm Bureau, the Caprock American Business Club, and the Plains 12 Cotton Growers Association; and 13 WHEREAS, Representative Jones first served in the Texas 14 Legislature from 1965 to 1973, and voters returned him to office in 1988; now in his 15th term, he serves as chair of the House 15 Committee on Redistricting, which he has twice previously led, and 16 is a member of the state affairs and the 17 licensing and administrative procedures committees; and 18 WHEREAS, This has 19 notable public servant authored 20 legislation that created the Texas Tech University Health Sciences 21 Center, the Lubbock County Hospital District, the 137th District Court, the Lubbock County Criminal District Attorney's Office, the 22 23 Buffalo Lakes Water District, and the Texas Tech Board of Regents;

drawing on his agricultural expertise, he also authored legislation

24

H.R. No. 1193

- 1 establishing the current Boll Weevil Eradication Program, as well
- 2 as statewide standards for eggs and fruit; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Representative Jones has been recognized for his
- 4 achievements by such groups as the National Association of Social
- 5 Workers, the Texas Classroom Teachers Association, the Mexican
- 6 American Legislative Caucus, the Lubbock County Bar Association,
- 7 the Lubbock Independent School District Board of Trustees, and the
- 8 South Plains Association of Governments; moreover, he was named
- 9 Outstanding Member of the 74th Legislative Session; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Delwin Jones is supported
- 11 by his wife, Reta, and their two children, Lanny and Melodie, and
- 12 his beloved family also includes a son-in-law, Harry, and two
- 13 grandsons, Greg and Scott; and
- WHEREAS, Representative Jones has benefited countless people
- 15 with his leadership and dedication, and he may indeed take pride in
- 16 the significant role he has played in shaping state government;
- 17 now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Delwin L. Jones on
- 20 the occasion of his birthday and extend to him heartfelt good wishes
- 21 for all the best in the coming year; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Representative Jones as an expression of high regard
- 24 by the Texas House of Representatives.

McReynolds

## H.R. No. 1193

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

H.R	. No.	1193

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1193 was adopted by the House on April 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House