RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Williamson County mourn the passing of
- 2 Clara May Stearns Scarbrough of Georgetown, a woman of remarkable
- 3 influence, intelligence, and talent, who passed away on November
- 4 28, 2008, at the age of 94; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Born in Circleville on August 17, 1914, Mrs.
- 6 Scarbrough settled in Taylor with her family at the age of 15 and
- 7 graduated from Taylor High School in 1932 as an honor student;
- 8 showing a strong creative flair, she privately studied piano and
- 9 art during her high school years and served as an accompanist for
- 10 several church choirs and a civic opera group; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Mrs. Scarbrough went on to attend The University of
- 12 Texas, where she was active in music, literary, drama, and social
- 13 organizations; she was elected to the Phi Beta Kappa Society before
- 14 graduating summa cum laude with degrees in music and English; and
- WHEREAS, In 1940, she married Donald Lee Scarbrough, and the
- 16 couple worked together to publish newspapers in Taylor, Elgin,
- 17 Granger, Thorndale, and Georgetown; moving to Georgetown in 1948,
- 18 they purchased the Williamson County Sun, which remains in the
- 19 family today; and
- WHEREAS, Mrs. Scarbrough's noteworthy career in academia and
- 21 her public service contributions grew dramatically following her
- 22 move to Georgetown; she taught journalism at Southwestern
- 23 University, supervised the music programs at Georgetown schools,
- 24 and served on the founding boards that established the Georgetown

- 1 Public Library, the Mood-Heritage Museum, and the Georgetown
- 2 Heritage Society; from 1967 to 1969, she taught in the Music
- 3 Department at The University of Texas; and
- 4 WHEREAS, One of the most notable accomplishments of this
- 5 distinguished and learned woman was a book she authored in 1973,
- 6 entitled Land of Good Water: A Williamson County History; this
- 7 significant publication laid the foundation for a preservation
- 8 movement that was embraced across the county and is regarded as the
- 9 leading reference on Williamson County history; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Clara Scarbrough excelled at every undertaking:
- 11 musician, editor, publisher, historian, author, and teacher; she
- 12 made a positive difference in the lives of countless Central
- 13 Texans, and her legacy of important works will long be remembered;
- 14 now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Clara May Stearns
- 17 Scarbrough and that deepest sympathy be extended to the members of
- 18 her family: to her daughters, Linda Scarbrough and her husband,
- 19 Clark Thurmond, and Donna Josey; to her granddaughters, Grace Josey
- 20 and her husband, Jared Pyka, and Kate Thurmond; and to her other
- 21 relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 24 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Clara May
- 25 Stearns Scarbrough.

Gattis

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1200 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 22, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House