H.R. No. 1239

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Jan Banta of Wichita Falls has been named Wichitan
- 2 of the Year by the Times Record News; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This honor was created to pay tribute to individuals
- 4 who have dedicated themselves to bettering their community; a truly
- 5 deserving recipient, Mrs. Banta established Hospice of Wichita
- 6 Falls in the mid-1980s to serve a crucial need for terminally ill
- 7 patients and their families; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Starting the facility with only one other paid
- 9 employee, Mrs. Banta served as its first executive director, and
- 10 during her outstanding tenure, Hospice cared for nearly 6,000
- 11 patients; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Today, nearly a quarter-century later, the
- 13 institution and its staff of 140 remain committed to helping
- 14 residents live out their lives in comfort and dignity; moreover,
- 15 Hospice of Wichita Falls now provides bereavement programs for the
- 16 general public; these invaluable initiatives are supported by the
- 17 Tree of Lights campaign, a fund-raiser created by Mrs. Banta that
- 18 collects at least \$100,000 a year in donations; and
- WHEREAS, Believing that each stage of human life deserves to
- 20 be treated with the utmost respect, Jan Banta has made an
- 21 immeasurable difference in the lives of many North Texas residents,
- 22 ensuring that they are provided with security, understanding, and
- 23 compassion at their journey's end; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 1239

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Jan Banta of Wichita Falls on being
- 2 named Wichitan of the Year by the *Times Record News* and extend to
- 3 her sincere best wishes for continued success in all of her
- 4 endeavors; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Banta as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Farabee

H.R. No. 1239

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1239 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House