H.R. No. 1240

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A 50th wedding anniversary marks a lifetime of love
- 2 and shared experiences, and William George and Anna Artharene
- 3 Martin of Greenville celebrated this joyous milestone in their
- 4 marriage on February 7, 2009; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Bill and "Sue" Martin met on the campus of Arlington
- 6 State College, and they were joined in matrimony in 1959; through
- 7 the years, they have been blessed with a treasured family that
- 8 includes four children, Sherri, Cleta, Gail, and Phillip; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A lifelong love of aeronautics inspired Mr. Martin
- 10 to pursue a career in aviation, and he worked at Majors Field
- 11 Airport for 37 years; in his spare time, he restored airplanes and
- 12 he built a small airstrip called Flyers Field north of Greenville;
- 13 and
- WHEREAS, Mrs. Martin was a homemaker until her children left
- 15 for college; she then enrolled at East Texas State University and
- 16 earned a marketing degree; in addition, she has taught children's
- 17 classes at Johnson Street Church of Christ for more than 30 years;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, Today, the Martins love traveling with their
- 20 poodles, Missy and Snickers, in their RV, either with the Metro-Tex
- 21 Sams group or on their own; and
- 22 WHEREAS, This devoted couple have enjoyed five decades of
- 23 abiding love and affection for one another, and they are among an
- 24 exceptional group of men and women who can claim such a lasting

H.R. No. 1240

- 1 commitment; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Bill and Sue Martin on their golden
- 4 wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for
- 5 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Martin as an expression of high regard by
- 8 the Texas House of Representatives.

Flynn

H.R. No. 1240

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1240 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House