H.R. No. 1270

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Byron Cook of House District 8 is
- 2 turning 55 years young on April 8, 2009, providing a welcome
- 3 opportunity to recognize him for his exceptional leadership; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Compelled to run for office to better the lives of
- 5 his fellow Texans and to ensure that Texas remains a great state,
- 6 Mr. Cook brought keen intelligence, discipline, and admirable
- 7 people skills to his new role when he became a member of the 78th
- 8 Texas Legislature in 2003; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Fair, kind, and considerate in all of his dealings,
- 10 Representative Cook serves as chair of the House Committee on
- 11 Environmental Regulation, as vice chair of the House Committee on
- 12 Local and Consent Calendars, and as a member of the calendars and
- 13 state affairs committees; he previously served as chair of the
- 14 House Committee on Civil Practices, as vice chair of the economic
- 15 development and state affairs committees, and as a valued member of
- 16 the Sunset Advisory Commission; and
- 17 WHEREAS, This hardworking Texan has earned several
- 18 significant honors through the years; he was selected as one of the
- 19 10 best legislators of 2007 by Texas Monthly magazine, and he was
- 20 named the recipient of the prestigious Friends of Medicine Award by
- 21 the Texas Medical Association; moreover, he was chosen legislator
- 22 of the month by the Texas Municipal League for his passionate
- 23 commitment to local government; and
- WHEREAS, A businessman and rancher by trade, Mr. Cook is a

H.R. No. 1270

- 1 1974 graduate of Navarro College; he is supported in all his
- 2 endeavors by his wife, Kay, with whom he has shared nearly three
- 3 decades of marriage and raised two daughters, Ginne and Katie; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Representative Cook has distinguished himself as a
- 5 straightforward and honest leader who is committed to accomplishing
- 6 great goals for the people of Navarro, Limestone, Freestone, and
- 7 Anderson Counties, as well as for all Texans; exemplifying the
- 8 highest standards of public service, he has justly garnered the
- 9 respect and admiration of all who are privileged to know him; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Byron Cook on the
- 13 occasion of his birthday and that he be extended sincere best wishes
- 14 for continued success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Representative Cook as an expression of high regard by
- 17 the Texas House of Representatives.

Thompson

## H.R. No. 1270

Straus Geren Merritt Giddings Allen Miklos Miller of Comal Alonzo Gonzales Alvarado Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Guillen Moody Gutierrez Anderson Morrison Hamilton Aycock Naishtat Berman Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bohac Olivo Bolton Harless Orr Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Bonnen Hartnett Branch Otto Brown of Kaufman Heflin Parker Brown of Brazos Hernandez Patrick Burnam Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Button Pena Hochberg Callegari Phillips Castro Hodge Pickett Homer Chavez Pierson Chisum Hopson Pitts Christian Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Howard of Travis Cohen Raymond Hughes Coleman Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Crabb Isett Ritter Craddick Jackson Rodriguez Creighton Rose Jones Sheffield Crownover Keffer Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker King of Taylor Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Taylor Dutton Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Lucio III Turner of Tarrant Elkins Turner of Harris England Madden Farabee Maldonado Vaught Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Flores Martinez Fischer Walle McCall Weber Flynn

Woolley

Zerwas

McClendon

Menendez

McReynolds

Frost Gallego

Gattis

Η.	. R .	No.	1270

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1270 was adopted by the House on April 8, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House