H.R. No. 1286

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Harrison County are gathering to 2 celebrate Harrison County Day at the State Capitol on April 9, 2009;

3 and

5

10

WHEREAS, Situated among the rolling piney woods of East

Texas, Harrison County was first inhabited by the Caddo people, and

6 large numbers of non-Native American settlers began to arrive in

7 the 1830s; the county was established by the Republic of Texas in

8 1839 and named after Texas revolutionary leader Jonas Harrison; and

9 WHEREAS, The city of Marshall, founded in 1841, became the

county seat the following year; at the time of the Civil War, it was

11 one of the most populous and prosperous cities in the state, and it

12 produced a large amount of saddles, clothing, gunpowder, and

13 ammunition for the Confederate Army; and

14 WHEREAS, Cotton was the basis for the county's economy for

15 many years and continued to be important well into the 20th century;

16 in addition, the red and white clay soils of the region are

17 excellent for stoneware, and the county is home to numerous pottery

18 companies, including Marshall Pottery, which was established in

19 1896 and remains one of the largest manufacturers of red clay pots

20 in the nation; the area's diverse economy is further enhanced by the

21 lumber industry, oil and gas production, manufacturing, and

22 ranching and farming; and

23 WHEREAS, Outdoor enthusiasts take advantage of the fine

24 opportunities for camping, hiking, fishing, and boating at Caddo

H.R. No. 1286

- 1 Lake State Park, home of the only natural lake in Texas; the
- 2 county's past is evoked at the Starr Family Home State Historic
- 3 Site, while the picturesque Ginocchio National Historic District in
- 4 Marshall preserves several fine examples of early Texas
- 5 architecture; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The educational needs of Harrison County are met by
- 7 such fine institutions as Wiley College, East Texas Baptist
- 8 University, and Texas State Technical College; those schools'
- 9 cultural offerings are supplemented by the Michelson Museum of Art,
- 10 which features work by several important early 20th century
- 11 artists; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the county's
- 13 colorful annual festivals, including Stagecoach Days in May and the
- 14 FireAnt Festival and Western Days in October; the yearly Wonderland
- 15 of Lights, held in Marshall during the holiday season, has drawn
- 16 visitors from all 50 states and around the world; and
- WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich heritage as they work toward
- 18 a bright tomorrow, the citizens of Harrison County may indeed take
- 19 great pride in their unique contribution to the history and culture
- 20 of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize April 9, 2009, as Harrison County Day
- 23 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 24 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Hughes

H.R. No. 1286

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

100	
H.R. No. 128	6

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1286 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House