H.R. No. 1321

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Congregation Beth Israel in Austin are
- 2 gathering together to express their appreciation of Rabbi Steven
- 3 Folberg on April 18, 2009; and
- WHEREAS, A native of Philadelphia, Rabbi Folberg earned his
- 5 bachelor's degree in psychology from La Salle University and was
- 6 ordained at the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion
- 7 in New York City in 1985; he went on to serve six years as assistant
- 8 and associate rabbi at Temple Beth-El of Great Neck, New York,
- 9 before moving to Austin in 1991 to become the religious leader of
- 10 Congregation Beth Israel; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Over the course of his notable tenure with the
- 12 synagogue, he has served the congregation with love and commitment
- 13 and been a source of wisdom, comfort, and inspiration to many; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Admired for his work as a skilled teacher of
- 15 children and adults alike, Rabbi Folberg has coauthored a high
- 16 school Jewish history textbook, Bright Lights In Dark Times, and he
- 17 has also served on the executive board of the Central Conference of
- 18 American Rabbis; and
- WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, he enjoys the support of his
- 20 wife, Dr. Saundra Goldman, with whom he has a beloved daughter,
- 21 Shira Lillian; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Rabbi Folberg has demonstrated great dedication to
- 23 the synagogue and to the wider community, and in so doing, he has
- 24 earned the heartfelt admiration of all who know him; now,

H.R. No. 1321

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor Rabbi Steven Folberg for his outstanding
- 4 service to Congregation Beth Israel and extend to him sincere best
- 5 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Rabbi Folberg as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Naishtat

H.R. No. 1321

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1321 was adopted by the House on April 15, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House