By: Crownover H.R. No. 1366

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 join the Communities In Schools State Advisory Committee and the
- 3 Texas Education Agency in recognizing the recipients of the 2009
- 4 Best of Texas awards; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Communities In Schools is a nationwide dropout
- 6 prevention network with 27 area programs in Texas; the initiative
- 7 helps students to improve in academics, attendance, and behavior,
- 8 while encouraging them to stay in school, graduate, and pursue
- 9 postsecondary education goals; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The Best of Texas award recipients are recognized
- 11 for their outstanding commitment to the CIS program, students,
- 12 families, and schools; they exemplify the spirit of the program and
- 13 demonstrate dedication beyond expectations; and
- 14 WHEREAS, This year's award winners, their programs, and
- 15 honors include Janice Masters, CIS El Paso, Paul Lane Award of
- 16 Excellence; Mark Vallejo, CIS of San Antonio, Board Member of the
- 17 Year; Cynthia Clay Briggs, CIS Houston, Executive Director of the
- 18 Year; Leigh Ann Armendariz, CIS of Greater Tarrant County, Staff
- 19 Member of the Year; Mary Ann Garrett, CIS of Bell-Coryell Counties,
- 20 Volunteer of the Year; Maria Solano, CIS Heart of Texas, Parent of
- 21 the Year; and Stephen Donaldson, CIS of North Texas, Student of the
- 22 Year; and
- WHEREAS, Other recipients are Duncan Klussman, CIS Houston,
- 24 Superintendent of the Year; Deborah Merki, CIS of North Texas,

H.R. No. 1366

- 1 Principal of the Year; Adriana Laguna, CIS El Paso, Teacher of the
- 2 Year; and Oakwood Baptist Church, CIS of South Central Texas,
- 3 Business of the Year; and
- 4 WHEREAS, These committed citizens have helped many young
- 5 Texans to stay in school, prepare for successful lives, and
- 6 contribute to their communities, and they truly merit special
- 7 recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2009
- 10 Communities In Schools Best of Texas awards and commend all those
- 11 involved with the Communities In Schools programs of Texas for
- 12 their exceptional work; and, be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for the award recipients as an expression of high regard by
- 15 the Texas House of Representatives.