H.R. No. 1371

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Paul Lozano, a senior at Earl Warren High School in
- 2 San Antonio, has deservedly been named a scholar finalist in the
- 3 2008-2009 National Hispanic Recognition Program; and
- 4 WHEREAS, An initiative of the College Board, the National
- 5 Hispanic Recognition Program honors those Hispanic students who
- 6 score well on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholar Qualifying
- 7 Test and who maintain a satisfactory grade point average; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The son of Maria Prather, this outstanding young
- 9 Texan is a member of the National Honor Society and the Interact
- 10 Club, a community service organization at Warren High School;
- 11 moreover, he has served as the local chapter president of the Mu
- 12 Alpha Theta mathematics honor society; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Mr. Lozano has earned several distinctions over the
- 14 course of his scholastic career, including membership in the
- 15 National Society of High School Scholars and inclusion in Who's Who
- 16 in America; a dedicated student, he has attained an impressive
- 17 grade point average of 100.83, and he hopes to further his education
- 18 at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Soon to embark on an exciting new chapter in his
- 20 life, Paul Lozano may indeed reflect with pride on his numerous
- 21 accomplishments and look with anticipation toward a bright and
- 22 promising future; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Paul Lozano on his selection as a

H.R. No. 1371

- 1 scholar finalist in the 2008-2009 National Hispanic Recognition
- 2 Program and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 3 success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Lozano as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Castro

TT	_	7. T	1 7 7	1
	-	NΩ	1 2 /	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1371 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House