## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Representatives of the East End Chamber of Commerce 2 in Houston are visiting the State Capitol on April 16, 2009, to celebrate the rich heritage and bright prospects of a notable 3 corner of the Lone Star State; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The Houston East End encompasses the former city of Harrisburg, which was platted in 1826, 10 years before the founding 6 7 of Houston itself; a shipping center for the early Texas colonies, Harrisburg became the seat of government for Harrisburg 8 Municipality in December 1835, and it served as the capital of the 9 Republic of Texas from March 22 to April 13, 1836; burned shortly 10 11 thereafter by the Mexican Army, the town was rebuilt incorporated in 1837; Harrisburg enjoyed the distinction of being 12 the site of the first steam sawmill, grist mills, and railroad 13 14 terminal in Texas; the community was annexed by Houston in 1926; and WHEREAS, Today the East End is the proud home of the Port of 15 16 Houston, one of the largest ports in the world; the Port of Houston is ranked first in foreign waterborne tonnage and second in total 17 tonnage in the United States; and 18 WHEREAS, In 2006, the East End Chamber of Commerce, 19 partnership with the Greater East End Management District and with 20 21 the input of nearly 300 stakeholders, completed the Strategic Vision, a program to guide the development of the East End over the 22 23 following decade; the Strategic Vision identified six priorities to 24 be addressed: the area's economic development, educational

H.R. No. 1382

- 1 resources, history, image, infrastructure, and parks and
- 2 neighborhoods; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The chamber of commerce and its partners have made
- 4 great strides already toward realizing the goals of this ambitious
- 5 plan; major achievements include the initiation of a National
- 6 Engineering Academy at Chavez High School, the creation of two Port
- 7 of Houston Maritime Academies, scheduled to open at Austin High
- 8 School and Yates High School in August 2009, and the establishment
- 9 of an Economic Development Division to retain current businesses
- 10 and attract new enterprises to the East End; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Together with the residential community, the East
- 12 End Chamber of Commerce is striving to ensure that development in
- 13 the area is conducive to enhancing the quality of life of all who
- 14 live there, and it is a privilege to commend this dynamic
- 15 organization for its forward-looking leadership and civic
- 16 engagement; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize April 16, 2009, as East End Chamber of
- 19 Commerce Day at the State Capitol and extend to all the chamber
- 20 members who have traveled to Austin best wishes for an enjoyable and
- 21 memorable visit; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for the East End Chamber of Commerce as an expression of
- 24 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hernandez

## H.R. No. 1382

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo

Martinez

McClendon

McReynolds

McCall

Martinez Fischer

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Fletcher

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

H.R.	No.	1382

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1382 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House