H.R. No. 1386

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Small businesses play a vital role in the economy of
- 2 the Lone Star State by providing employment for Texans, and with the
- 3 assistance of the Small Business Development Center at The
- 4 University of Texas at San Antonio, Sylvia Wolff and Irma Flores of
- 5 San Antonio have expanded their business and retained four jobs;
- 6 and
- 7 WHEREAS, The SBDC helps small businesses grow and prosper in
- 8 the San Antonio area by providing a variety of services to business
- 9 owners, including training, counseling, and referrals; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Ms. Flores and Ms. Wolff are the founders of Custom
- 11 Crush Winery, where customers can create custom wines with
- 12 personalized labels; they have been working with SBDC business
- 13 advisor Patrice McElfresh over the course of several years, and
- 14 they have recently moved the winery to a larger location; and
- WHEREAS, Because it is able to accommodate small social
- 16 gatherings, the new location will draw new customers to the
- 17 business, and with the efforts to improve sales, marketing, and
- 18 management strategies, the business has been able to retain four
- 19 jobs; and
- WHEREAS, The hard work, dedication, and thoughtful
- 21 preparation of Texas entrepreneurs all contribute greatly to the
- 22 prosperity of the state, and Ms. Flores and Ms. Wolff are building a
- 23 foundation of success for themselves and their community; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1386

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Sylvia Wolff and Irma Flores on the
- 3 expansion of Custom Crush Winery and extend to them sincere best
- 4 wishes for continued success in their exciting venture; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Ms. Wolff and Ms. Flores as an expression of high
- 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Castro

H.R. No. 1386

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1386 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House