H.R. No. 1414

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Bicycle Coalition, also known 2 BikeTexas, was organized in 1991 to promote the advancement of bicycling access, safety, and education in the Lone Star State; and 3 WHEREAS, Millions of Texans ride bicycles for fitness, 4 5 recreation, and transportation each day; bicycling can be pursued at any age and has been identified by public health professionals as 6 7 an activity that could greatly reduce the cost of health care; bicycling benefits the economy as well, with Texans spending more 8 than \$200 million annually on bicycle-related goods and services; 9 moreover, bicycle races, tours, rallies, and other events taking 10 11 place throughout the state have a positive financial impact on 12 participating communities, and such events raise more than \$50 million annually for Texas charities; and 13 14 WHEREAS, Mountain bikers in the state play a beneficial role in enhancing our parks and other public lands, contributing 15 thousands of volunteer hours each year toward 16 multiuse trail creation and enhancement and care of the outdoor environment; and 17 18 WHEREAS, Bicycle safety standards applied to road design and construction, as well as to traffic regulations, will create more 19 bicycle-friendly communities, thereby encouraging more people to 20 21 engage in this favorable outdoor activity; and 22 WHEREAS, Since 1998, the Texas Department of Transportation 23 has awarded a grant to the BikeTexas Education Fund for the Texas 24 SuperCyclist and SuperCollege Programs, which have certified more

H.R. No. 1414

- 1 than 3,500 physical education and health teachers in bicycle safety
- 2 and allowed for some 200,000 schoolchildren to receive bicycle
- 3 safety instruction; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The U.S. Department of Education awarded the
- 5 BikeTexas Education Fund a three-year, \$1.3 million grant in 2004
- 6 to pilot a Safe Routes to School program combining the education and
- 7 encouragement components of the internationally accepted Safe
- 8 Routes to School model used in Lubbock, Amarillo, Fort Worth, and
- 9 Wichita Falls; in addition, BikeTexas has been a national leader in
- 10 the effort to include funding for Safe Routes to School programs in
- 11 federal transportation bills, and Texas has received nearly \$30
- 12 million for its SRTS programs since 2005; and
- WHEREAS, For nearly two decades, BikeTexas has worked to
- 14 enhance the safety of Texas roadways for cyclists and others, and it
- 15 is indeed fitting to recognize this outstanding organization; now,
- 16 therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby commend BikeTexas for its hard work and
- 19 dedication in behalf of bicycle safety and extend sincere best
- 20 wishes for continued success to its board of directors, staff,
- 21 members, and volunteers; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for BikeTexas as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 24 House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

H.R. No. 1414

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1414 was adopted by the House on April 20, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House