RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Ballet Lubbock is celebrating its 40th anniversary
- 2 throughout the 2009-2010 season, which commences on May 5, 2009;
- 3 and
- 4 WHEREAS, The only pre-professional performing company on the
- 5 South Plains, Ballet Lubbock was founded in 1969 by Suzanne Aker,
- 6 who served as its first artistic director and choreographer; Ms.
- 7 Aker earned teacher certification from the Royal Academy of Dance
- 8 in London and taught professionally for more than a half-century
- 9 before her retirement in 2000; Yvonne Racz, one of her former
- 10 students, has served as artistic director since 1997; and
- 11 WHEREAS, A graduate of the University of Utah, Ms. Racz has
- 12 performed with a number of professional dance companies, as well as
- 13 in Cirque du Soleil's Mystere, and has extensive experience as a
- 14 teacher and choreographer; she currently serves as an adjunct
- 15 professor of dance at Texas Tech University; the recipient of a
- 16 Dynamic Force/ACE Award from the Lubbock Arts Alliance, she was
- 17 recognized in 2008 by The Lubbock Avalanche-Journal as one of the
- 18 100 most influential people in the city; under her able leadership,
- 19 the Ballet Lubbock School has grown tenfold; and
- WHEREAS, Ballet Lubbock teaches nearly 200 students
- 21 annually, and over the years, more than 50 alumni have gone on to
- 22 professional performing, choreography, and teaching careers in the
- 23 United States and abroad; in addition to nurturing love and respect
- 24 for the art of classical dance, the school's classes emphasize

- 1 strong discipline and correct technique, and students are
- 2 consistently accepted into top-ranked summer ballet programs and
- 3 intensives across the country; and
- WHEREAS, Each year, Ballet Lubbock presents holiday
- 5 performances of The Nutcracker and a spring ballet such as The
- 6 Firebird, the 2009 selection; the organization fosters
- 7 appreciation of classical dance through both performance and
- 8 educational outreaches, offering classes at three community
- 9 centers and providing scholarships to talented dancers in need; it
- 10 has donated numerous tickets for performances to senior centers,
- 11 the Buckner Children's Home, and other social service agencies, and
- 12 since 2006, Ballet Lubbock has partnered with Lubbock Independent
- 13 School District to bring more than 2,000 children to free
- 14 performances of *The Nutcracker*; Ms. Racz also makes personal school
- 15 appearances to teach students basic ballet and to prepare them for
- 16 their first experience of Tchaikovsky's timeless musical tale; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Ballet Lubbock has introduced children to classical
- 18 dance over the past four decades and has increased access to a great
- 19 art form through its annual performances and generous outreaches;
- 20 as the company commences its 2009-2010 season, it is indeed fitting
- 21 to recognize its contributions to the West Texas arts scene; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate all those associated with Ballet
- 25 Lubbock on the 40th anniversary of this noteworthy organization and
- 26 extend to them best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for the company as an expression of high regard by the
- 2 Texas House of Representatives.

Jones

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1419 was adopted by the House on April 20, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House