H.R. No. 1439

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Combined Law Enforcement Associations of Texas are holding their 12th biennial Texas Peace 2 Officers' Memorial Ceremony on May 4, 2009, and this solemn event 3 provides a fitting opportunity to honor those heroic public 4 5 servants who placed themselves in harm's way to safeguard the lives and property of their fellow Texans; and 6

7 WHEREAS, Citizens throughout the state appreciate the brave 8 officers who, by their selfless dedication to the public welfare, 9 enable us to enjoy the benefits of a peaceful and orderly society; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, These men and women willingly risk their lives each 12 day in order to investigate crimes and to patrol our roadways, 13 communities, prisons, parks, and borderlands; moreover, they 14 respond in times of crisis, and they also work to educate the public 15 about crime prevention, adherence to the law, and safety awareness; 16 and

WHEREAS, Officer Gary Gryder of the Houston Police Department exemplified in his professional conduct the virtues of courage, dedication, and fortitude throughout his 23 years of service with the department; and

21 WHEREAS, On June 29, 2008, Gary Gryder was killed in the line 22 of duty, and his untimely death represents a tragic loss to his 23 family, to his fellow officers, and to the entire community; and 24 WHEREAS, The heroism of Gary Gryder has earned this esteemed

1

H.R. No. 1439 1 Texan our deepest gratitude, which the passage of time can never 2 diminish; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 4 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Officer Gary Gryder of 5 the Houston Police Department and extend deepest sympathy to his 6 loved ones; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House 9 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Gary 10 Gryder.

Crabb

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 1439

3

H.R. No. 1439

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1439 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 22, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House