RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Combined Law Enforcement
- 2 Associations of Texas are holding their 12th biennial Texas Peace
- 3 Officers' Memorial Ceremony on May 4, 2009, and this solemn event
- 4 provides a fitting opportunity to honor those heroic public
- 5 servants who placed themselves in harm's way to safeguard the lives
- 6 and property of their fellow Texans; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Citizens throughout the state appreciate the brave
- 8 officers who, by their selfless dedication to the public welfare,
- 9 enable us to enjoy the benefits of a peaceful and orderly society;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, These men and women willingly risk their lives each
- 12 day in order to investigate crimes and to patrol our roadways,
- 13 communities, prisons, parks, and borderlands; moreover, they
- 14 respond in times of crisis, and they also work to educate the public
- 15 about crime prevention, adherence to the law, and safety awareness;
- 16 and
- 17 WHEREAS, Corporal Arlie Miller Jones of the Odessa Police
- 18 Department exemplified in his professional conduct the virtues of
- 19 courage, dedication, and fortitude throughout his 23 years of
- 20 service with the department; and
- 21 WHEREAS, On September 8, 2007, Arlie Miller Jones was killed
- 22 in the line of duty, and his untimely death represents a tragic loss
- 23 to his family, to his fellow officers, and to the entire community;
- 24 and

- 1 WHEREAS, The heroism of Arlie Miller Jones has earned this
- 2 esteemed Texan our deepest gratitude, which the passage of time can
- 3 never diminish; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Corporal Arlie Miller
- 6 Jones of the Odessa Police Department and extend deepest sympathy
- 7 to his loved ones; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House
- 10 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Arlie
- 11 Miller Jones.

Crabb

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias

Villarreal

Vo

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Marquez

McCall

Martinez

McClendon

McReynolds

Martinez Fischer

Farrar

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Fletcher

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1444 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 22, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House