H.R. No. 1473

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Former Alaska state senator Lyda Green is a native
- 2 daughter of the Lone Star State, and it is indeed fitting to
- 3 recognize her many accomplishments; and
- WHEREAS, Born on October 16, 1938, in Livingston, the former
- 5 Lyda Handley graduated in 1956 from Brazosport High School in
- 6 Freeport and went on to earn a bachelor's degree in business
- 7 administration from Sam Houston State University; she married
- 8 Curtis Green in 1961, and the couple moved to Anchorage, Alaska,
- 9 where they raised three children, Shelton, Bradley, and Kristie;
- 10 today they make their home in Wasilla; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Mrs. Green held a variety of jobs in addition to her
- 12 family responsibilities, and she eventually founded The Study, an
- 13 education and tutorial facility; along the way, she received her
- 14 Slingerland Language Arts Certification from the University of
- 15 Alaska Anchorage; and
- 16 WHEREAS, This esteemed woman entered public service in the
- 17 early 1990s as a member of the Governor's Council on Disabilities
- 18 and Special Education, and she later served on the Department of
- 19 Education Special Education Regulations Task Force; in 1994, she
- 20 was elected to represent the Matanuska-Susitna Valley in the Alaska
- 21 State Senate, and voters subsequently returned her to office three
- 22 times; and
- 23 WHEREAS, During her notable legislative career, Senator
- 24 Green distinguished herself as a longtime member of the finance

H.R. No. 1473

- 1 committee, which she served as co-chair for five years, and as chair
- 2 of the state affairs and the health, education, and social services
- 3 committees; moreover, she was elected senate president by a
- 4 bipartisan majority of her colleagues in January 2007; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Senator Green's legislative achievements also
- 6 include the successful sponsorship of education and welfare
- 7 reforms, as well as a concealed handgun law; she retired in January
- 8 2009 after 14 years of dedicated leadership; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Today, Mrs. Green remains active in the First
- 10 Baptist Church of Palmer and takes pleasure in traveling, reading,
- 11 and playing the piano, among other pursuits; she especially enjoys
- 12 spending time in the company of her eight grandchildren, Kelsie,
- 13 Connor, Caleb, Noah, Daniel, Tori, Meijan, and Jiabao; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Throughout her years of service to Alaska, Lyda
- 15 Green demonstrated enthusiasm, professionalism, and a commitment
- 16 to excellence, and she may indeed reflect with pride on the
- 17 significant contributions she has made in behalf of her fellow
- 18 citizens; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby honor former Alaska state senator and native
- 21 Texan Lyda Green on her many accomplishments and extend to her
- 22 sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it
- 23 further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for Mrs. Green as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 26 House of Representatives.

Taylor

## H.R. No. 1473

Gattis Menendez Straus Geren Allen Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Miller of Comal Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Morrison Aycock Berman Hamilton Naishtat Bohac Hancock Oliveira Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Heflin Brown of Brazos Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Hochberg Castro Phillips Hodge Chavez Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Hopson Pitts Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Quintanilla Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Crabb Isett Ritter Jackson Craddick Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Sheffield Keffer Crownover Kent Shelton Darby Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III Madden Turner of Harris England Farabee Maldonado Vaught Veasey Farias Mallory Caraway Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores Flynn McCall Weber McClendon Woolley

McReynolds

Frost Gallego

		Speaker of the House				
I certify that H.R. No. 147	3 was	adopted by	the	House	on A	April
09, by a non-record vote.						

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 1473

23, 2009, by a non-record vote.