By: Anderson H.R. No. 1518

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Baylor University men's basketball team brought 2 further acclaim to the university and to the State of Texas with its

2 further acclaim to the university and to the State of Texas with its 3 inspired play during the 2009 postseason, making a dramatic run

4 through the National Invitational Tournament to play for the title;

5 and

6 WHEREAS, To set the stage for its NIT success, the Bears

7 performed exceptionally well in the Big 12 championship tournament

8 in Oklahoma City in mid-March; they reeled off three successive

9 wins, including a 71-64 upset of Kansas, the conference's

10 top-seeded team, to earn a spot in the title game; there, they fell

11 to Missouri to finish as the Big 12 runner-up; and

12 WHEREAS, Granted a spot in the National Invitational

13 Tournament for the first time since 2001, Baylor resumed its clutch

14 play, topping Georgetown, Virginia Tech, Auburn, and San Diego

15 State; on April 2, Baylor made its first NIT finals appearance in

16 school history, and though the team lost a hard-fought title game to

17 Penn State, its overall performance in the tournament demonstrated

18 that Baylor could hold its own against tough competitors from

19 throughout the nation; and

20 WHEREAS, Indispensable to the Baylor attack were its skilled

21 senior players--Curtis Jerrells, Henry Dugat, Delbert Simpson,

22 Mamadou Diene, and Kevin Rogers--who have helped bring about a

23 resurgence in the basketball program, winning 64 games during their

24 years at the university; in addition, the Bears received

- H.R. No. 1518
- 1 outstanding contributions from the other members of the roster:
- 2 Kendall Wright, Duran Diaz, Fred Ellis, Quincy Acy, LaceDarius
- 3 Dunn, Anthony Jones, Tweety Carter, Josh Lomers, and Ekpe Udoh; and
- 4 WHEREAS, These talented athletes were guided by head coach
- 5 Scott Drew and assistant coaches Matthew Driscoll, Mark Morefield,
- 6 and Jerome Tang; additional support was provided by director of
- 7 basketball operations Stephen Brough, coordinator of basketball
- 8 operations Paul Mills, and director of player development Dwon
- 9 Clifton; and
- 10 WHEREAS, With its thrilling postseason victories, the Baylor
- 11 basketball squad was a source of great excitement and pride for its
- 12 loyal fans, and its triumphs will serve to inspire future Bears
- 13 teams in seasons to come; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby congratulate the Baylor University men's
- 16 basketball team on its memorable 2008-2009 season and extend best
- 17 wishes to the players, coaches, and staff for continued success;
- 18 and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 21 House of Representatives.