H.R. No. 1541

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, George Yapor is being recognized with a 2009 Lucy G.
- 2 Acosta Humanitarian Award, presented by LULAC Project Amistad; and
- 3 WHEREAS, An El Paso-based nonprofit organization, Project
- 4 Amistad hosts the annual Lucy G. Acosta Humanitarian Awards banquet
- 5 to pay tribute to those individuals and groups that have
- 6 demonstrated exemplary efforts in serving the community; proceeds
- 7 from the event are directed toward the agency's client health and
- 8 welfare fund, which provides vital assistance to senior citizens
- 9 and people with disabilities; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The president of Popular Mattress Factory Direct,
- 11 Mr. Yapor has been active in countless organizations, including the
- 12 Child Crisis Center of El Paso, Susan G. Komen for the Cure, Hospice
- 13 El Paso, the El Paso Chamber of Commerce, and the El Paso County
- 14 Park Advisory Board, and he has supported services for individuals
- 15 in need, victims of catastrophes, and the elderly; in addition, his
- 16 company was named "Business of the Year" by the State of Texas Child
- 17 Welfare Board for donating mattresses to numerous children in the
- 18 state; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through his generosity and dedication, George Yapor
- 20 has greatly benefited many of his fellow residents, and he has set
- 21 an example of civic leadership and volunteerism to which all may
- 22 aspire; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby honor George Yapor on his receipt of a 2009 Lucy

H.R. No. 1541

- 1 G. Acosta Humanitarian Award and extend to him sincere best wishes
- 2 for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Mr. Yapor as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

Chavez

TT	ח	$N \cap$	1 [/ 1
\neg	ĸ	131()	1 1 4 1

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1541 was adopted by the House on April 30, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House