H.R. No. 1547

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Through its Corporate Work Study Program, San Juan
- 2 Diego Catholic High School in Austin is preparing many young Texans
- 3 for the challenges and opportunities of the future; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The CWSP allows highly motivated students to gain
- 5 real world employment experience while subsidizing the cost of
- 6 their education, and it exposes these youth to a variety of
- 7 disciplines, including health care, technology, law, and real
- 8 estate; before they are placed in positions within the sponsoring
- 9 organizations, the participants take an intensive summer training
- 10 course, in which they learn the importance of teamwork,
- 11 responsibility, communication, and professional etiquette, as well
- 12 as general clerical skills; and
- WHEREAS, During the school year, each student in the CWSP
- 14 works five days per month and shares a full-time, entry-level
- 15 position with three other classmates; the CWSP staff coordinate the
- 16 students' schedules, and they also maintain contact with the
- 17 employers to review student performance and ensure the overall
- 18 effectiveness of the program; and
- 19 WHEREAS, An integral part of the college preparatory
- 20 education at San Juan Diego Catholic High School, the Corporate
- 21 Work Study Program teaches its students valuable life lessons, and
- 22 it helps them develop the confidence to pursue their goals and
- 23 realize their full potential; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 1547

- 1 Legislature hereby honor San Juan Diego Catholic High School and
- 2 extend to all those involved in its Corporate Work Study Program
- 3 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for San Juan Diego Catholic High School as an expression of
- 6 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Castro

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1547 was adopted by the House on April 30, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House