H.R. No. 1551

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Founded in 1947, Texas Southern University now
- 2 celebrates 60 years of educational excellence and commitment to
- 3 providing opportunity for higher education to all; and
- WHEREAS, Texas Southern University is the second-largest of
- 5 the historically Black colleges and universities in the United
- 6 States; the university has opened its doors to higher education for
- 7 more than 11,000 students from throughout the State of Texas and
- 8 around the country; and
- 9 WHEREAS, An open-enrollment institution, Texas Southern
- 10 University remains committed to its historical mission of offering
- 11 opportunities for higher education to underserved students; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Texas Southern University has conferred more than
- 13 48,000 degrees in its 60-year history; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The Texas Southern University Thurgood Marshall
- 15 School of Law has been recognized by U.S. News and World Report
- 16 magazine as the most "diverse law school" in the nation; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Texas Southern University trains the majority of
- 18 teachers for the Houston Independent School District, the largest
- 19 school district in the State of Texas; and
- WHEREAS, Among Houston's African American citizens, one in
- 21 six has attended Texas Southern University; most of the African
- 22 American pharmacists in the State of Texas have also attended the
- 23 university; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The Texas Southern University National Alumni

H.R. No. 1551

- 1 Association represents thousands of active and concerned alumni in
- 2 14 chapters nationwide; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Southern University National
- 4 Alumni Association and the members of the Texas Southern University
- 5 Student Government Association are traveling to Austin on April 27,
- 6 2009, to visit with members of the Texas Senate and the Texas House
- 7 of Representatives and to express their support for a strong and
- 8 independent Texas Southern University for the benefit of higher
- 9 education in Texas; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Southern University
- 12 community on its many contributions to our state and recognize
- 13 April 27, 2009, as Texas Southern University Day at the State
- 14 Capitol; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 16 for the Texas Southern University National Alumni Association
- 17 president and the Texas Southern University Student Government
- 18 Association president as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 19 House of Representatives.

Coleman

## H.R. No. 1551

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

H.R	No.	1551

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1551 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House