H.R. No. 1579

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Colonel John W. Doucette of the United States Air 2 Force has rendered distinguished service to his nation throughout 3 his air force career and particularly during his tenure as the 4 commander of the 47th Flying Training Wing at Laughlin Air Force 5 Base; and

6 WHEREAS, This accomplished officer began his assignment with the 47th FTW in December 2007, and in that capacity he has overseen 7 undergraduate flying training for U.S. and allied officers; 8 9 Colonel Doucette has done an outstanding job of commanding Laughlin's extensive training operation, which includes 10 252 11 aircraft that fly some 60,000 sorties per year, and his assured 12 leadership has allowed the wing's nearly 3,000 air force and civilian personnel to effectively and efficiently fulfill their 13 14 duties; and

WHEREAS, Colonel Doucette completed officer training school at Lackland Air Force Base in 1986 and has proven his abilities in a variety of flying and staff assignments in the years since; a command pilot who has spent 2,500 hours of flight time in the cockpit of the F-15C fighter jet and other aircraft, he completed combat missions during Operation Desert Shield, Operation Desert Storm, and other military initiatives; and

WHEREAS, His extensive and wide-ranging experience includes command of the 18th Operations Support Squadron at Kadena Air Base in Japan and service to the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff at

1

H.R. No. 1579

1 the Pentagon; before assuming his duties with the 47th FTW, he was 2 vice commander of the 33rd Fighter Wing at Eglin Air Force Base in 3 Florida; and

4 WHEREAS, Highly respected for his achievements, Colonel 5 Doucette has received numerous commendations, including the Defense Superior Service Medal, the Meritorious Service Medal with 6 four oak leaf clusters, the Air Medal with three oak leaf clusters, 7 8 and the Aerial Achievement Medal with three oak leaf clusters; he advanced has steadily through the officer ranks 9 and was 10 commissioned as a colonel on February 1, 2006; and

11 WHEREAS, In the nearly 15 months that he has commanded the 12 47th FTW, Colonel John Doucette has contributed greatly to our 13 nation's defense by preparing air force personnel for their future 14 assignments, and the citizens of Texas and the United States are 15 indeed fortunate to benefit from the services of this accomplished 16 leader; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 18 Legislature hereby honor Colonel John W. Doucette of the U.S. Air 19 Force for his exceptional achievements as commander of the 47th 20 Flying Training Wing and extend to him sincere best wishes for 21 continued success in his future assignments; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Colonel Doucette as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 1579

Menendez

H.R. No. 1579

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1579 was adopted by the House on April 24, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House