RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Throughout its rich history, First United Methodist
- 2 Church in Lubbock has reached out to the community and enhanced the
- 3 lives of local residents in myriad ways; and
- WHEREAS, This notable institution dates back to 1892, when
- 5 church services were held in schools and at the Lubbock County
- 6 Courthouse, and it has since experienced significant growth,
- 7 including the construction of an impressive Gothic-style sanctuary
- 8 along with an education building and a Christian Life Center for
- 9 youth; yet despite these changes and expansions, First United
- 10 Methodist Church has remained true to its mission of supporting the
- 11 community through charitable works; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Committed to their church's mission, parishioners
- 13 have shown compassion and kindness to many, and they have welcomed
- 14 newcomers into their community with open arms; in 1975, when the
- 15 family of State Representative Hubert Vo settled in Lubbock, the
- 16 congregation provided vital assistance to their new neighbors,
- 17 enrolling the children in area schools and even raising funds to
- 18 purchase a car for the family; the support that the Vos received
- 19 from First United Methodist Church helped them adjust to life in
- 20 this country, and they benefited greatly from the generosity of its
- 21 congregants and leaders; and
- WHEREAS, Under the guidance of its current pastor, Dr. Jay
- 23 Horton, First United Methodist Church continues to serve as a
- 24 source of comfort, inspiration, and fellowship, and its legacy of

H.R. No. 1592

- 1 goodwill resonates in Lubbock and beyond; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor First United Methodist Church for its
- 4 efforts in behalf of the citizens of Lubbock and extend to its
- 5 clergy and congregation sincere best wishes for continued success
- 6 with their worthy endeavors; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Vo

H.R. No. 1592

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Η	R	No.	1592

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1592 was adopted by the House on April 30, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House