H.R. No. 1594

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of Leadership Mission are visiting the State
Capitol on April 27, 2009, to gain further insight into the workings
of state government; and

WHEREAS, This exceptional program provides opportunities for participants to increase their knowledge of vital public issues and to visit with the leaders who are making decisions that affect their community; and

8 WHEREAS, Meeting regularly over the course of a nine-month 9 period, participants further develop their skills and enhance their 10 knowledge of vital public issues as they study topics ranging from 11 the history of Mission, to city and county government, the police 12 and fire departments, health care, education, the media, and 13 federal agencies, in addition to taking a maquila tour; and

14 WHEREAS, Classes inspire a spirit of activism and provide a diverse membership with personal leadership training, networking 15 16 opportunities, and instruction from influential figures from both the public and private sectors; each annual Leadership group also 17 completes a project of benefit to the community; in recent years, 18 these projects have included donations to the Mission Historical 19 Museum, the Mission Speer Memorial Library, and the Mission Boys 20 21 and Girls Club; and

22 WHEREAS, Leadership Mission awards scholarships each session 23 to members who are in high school or college and who successfully 24 complete the LM program; to raise funds for these scholarships,

1

H.R. No. 1594

class projects, and the annual legislative trip, members
participate in such worthwhile events as the Texas Citrus Fiesta,
the City Tree Lighting Ceremony, and a benefit raffle; they also
sponsor the popular Leadership Mission Golf Classic; and

5 WHEREAS, Through fostering a more informed and involved 6 citizenry and developing new leaders, Leadership Mission is helping 7 to create a brighter and more promising future for the Lone Star 8 State; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 10 Legislature hereby welcome members of Leadership Mission to the 11 State Capitol and extend to all participants sincere best wishes 12 for continued success; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas 15 House of Representatives.

Flores

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 1594

H.R. No. 1594

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1594 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House