## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
- 2 at Dallas has been named the best medical school in the country for
- 3 Hispanic students for the second consecutive year by Hispanic
- 4 Business magazine; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The goals of UT Southwestern Medical Center are to
- 6 deliver high quality medical care, to conduct high-impact,
- 7 internationally recognized research, and to educate leaders in
- 8 biomedical science, patient care, and disease prevention; through
- 9 its three degree-granting institutions, the UT Southwestern
- 10 Medical School, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and School
- 11 of Health Professions, the center trains nearly 4,200 students,
- 12 residents, and postdoctoral fellows annually, and its faculty
- 13 includes four active Nobel laureates; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The faculty and residents of UT Southwestern Medical
- 15 Center tend to more than 95,000 hospitalized patients and conduct
- 16 nearly 1.8 million outpatient visits each year; these dedicated
- 17 practitioners administer care at UT Southwestern University
- 18 Hospitals, Parkland Health and Hospital System, Children's Medical
- 19 Center Dallas, and VA North Texas Health Care System, as well as
- 20 other affiliated hospitals and clinics in Dallas and the
- 21 surrounding communities; and
- WHEREAS, With more than 10,000 employees and an annual
- 23 operating budget of more than \$1.4 billion, UT Southwestern Medical
- 24 Center plays an important role in the region's economy; moreover,

- 1 its faculty physicians annually provide some \$358 million in
- 2 unreimbursed services to indigent patients; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Dedicated to improving health care through
- 4 education and innovation, UT Southwestern Medical Center is
- 5 developing the next generation of health care professionals, and it
- 6 is a pleasure to recognize its continuing commitment to excellence;
- 7 now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby honor The University of Texas Southwestern
- 10 Medical Center at Dallas on its selection as the top medical school
- 11 in the country for Hispanic students by Hispanic Business magazine
- 12 and extend to all those associated with the institution sincere
- 13 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for UT Southwestern Medical Center as an expression of
- 16 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Anchia

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1619 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House