RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 recognize all of the participants in the Texas Legislative
- 3 Internship Program (TLIP) for their outstanding work during the
- 4 81st Legislative Session; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established in 1990, TLIP provides a unique
- 6 opportunity for students from Texas colleges and universities to
- 7 serve as interns in the Texas Legislature, in state agencies, and in
- 8 local government offices; students receive academic credit for
- 9 participating in the program, which combines study and research
- 10 with supervised practical training; and
- 11 WHEREAS, TLIP is administered by the Mickey Leland Center on
- 12 World Hunger and Peace at Texas Southern University; Senator Rodney
- 13 Ellis serves as a program advisor, and his office assists with
- 14 coordinating on-site activities; and
- WHEREAS, The TLIP interns for the 81st Legislative Session
- 16 are Tressie Bates, Joshua Bekerman, Rahsaan J. Coefield, Rebecca
- 17 Cohen, Diana Cruz, Alexis Dugger, Robert Edrozo, Natasha Egharevba,
- 18 Kimberly M. Freeman, Amber Goodwin, Melinda Griffith, Tanya
- 19 Gripton, John Hefley, Dimetrius Holland, Jonathan "JJ" Lietzke,
- 20 Gloria E. Lopez, Jorge Lopez, Sandra Marek, Alejandro Martinez,
- 21 Carlos Dantes Mejias, Tommy Micah, Maria Molina, Eronn Putman,
- 22 Rebecca Reyes, Stephen Rispoli, Brittany Rosales, Chani Seals,
- 23 Curtis Smith, Miles Stiles, Resha Thomas, Sharonda Joy Thomas,
- 24 Kierah Weber, John White, and Morris Williams; and

- 1 WHEREAS, These diligent and resourceful interns have
- 2 skillfully handled a variety of duties in the representatives'
- 3 offices and ably assisted with meeting the needs of constituents;
- 4 in so doing, they have gained valuable work experience and
- 5 firsthand knowledge of the governmental process, while developing
- 6 insight into the important issues facing our communities and our
- 7 state; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby commend the participants in the Texas
- 10 Legislative Internship Program during the 81st Legislative Session
- 11 and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 12 further
- 13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for each intern as an expression of high regard by the
- 15 Texas House of Representatives.

Coleman

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1639 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House