H.R. No. 1644

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize Dimetrius Holland for his outstanding work in the office 3 of Representative Mark Homer during the 81st Legislative Session; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Holland has distinguished himself as a 6 participant in the Texas Legislative Internship Program (TLIP) 7 administered by the Mickey Leland Center on World Hunger and Peace 8 at Texas Southern University; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1990, TLIP provides a unique 9 opportunity for students from Texas colleges and universities to 10 11 serve as interns in the Texas Legislature, in state agencies, and in 12 local government offices; students receive academic credit for participating in the program, which combines study and research 13 14 with supervised practical training; Senator Rodney Ellis serves as a program advisor, and his office assists with coordinating on-site 15 16 activities; and

WHEREAS, A native of Longview, Mr. Holland studied political science and criminal justice at Lamar University, earning a bachelor's degree, and he is currently a graduate student at that institution; in his free time, Mr. Holland enjoys hunting, working out, and drawing; and

22 WHEREAS, During his tenure as a legislative intern, Mr. 23 Holland has gained valuable work experience and firsthand knowledge 24 of the governmental process, while also developing insight into the

1

H.R. No. 1644

1 important issues facing our communities and our state; and

2 WHEREAS, Diligent and resourceful, Mr. Holland has 3 skillfully handled a variety of duties in the office of 4 Representative Homer and ably assisted in meeting the needs of 5 constituents, and he may reflect proudly on his service as a 6 legislative intern; now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 8 Legislature hereby commend Dimetrius Holland for his tireless 9 dedication and exemplary work as a participant in the Texas 10 Legislative Internship Program and extend to him sincere best 11 wishes for the future; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for Mr. Holland as an expression of high regard by the 14 Texas House of Representatives.

> Coleman Homer

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 1644

Menendez

H.R. No. 1644

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1644 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House