H.R. No. 1645

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize John Hefley for his outstanding work in the office of 3 Representative Vicki Truitt during the 81st Legislative Session; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Hefley has distinguished himself as a 6 participant in the Texas Legislative Internship Program (TLIP) 7 administered by the Mickey Leland Center on World Hunger and Peace 8 at Texas Southern University; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1990, TLIP provides a unique 9 opportunity for students from Texas colleges and universities to 10 11 serve as interns in the Texas Legislature, in state agencies, and in 12 local government offices; students receive academic credit for participating in the program, which combines study and research 13 14 with supervised practical training; Senator Rodney Ellis serves as a program advisor, and his office assists with coordinating on-site 15 16 activities; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Hefley grew up on a farm in the Panhandle and earned his bachelor's degree in business administration and accounting from Texas Tech University; a second-year student at the Thurgood Marshall School of Law at TSU, he is a member of Phi Alpha Delta, the Hispanic Law School Association, and the Immigration Law Society and serves as treasurer for his chapter of the Federalist Society; and

24

WHEREAS, During his tenure as a legislative intern, Mr.

1

Hefley has gained valuable work experience and firsthand knowledge of the governmental process, while also developing insight into the important issues facing our communities and our state; and

WHEREAS, Diligent and resourceful, Mr. Hefley has skillfully handled a variety of duties in the office of Representative Truitt and ably assisted in meeting the needs of constituents, and he may reflect proudly on his service as a legislative intern; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 10 Legislature hereby commend John Hefley for his tireless dedication 11 and exemplary work as a participant in the Texas Legislative 12 Internship Program and extend to him sincere best wishes for the 13 future; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for Mr. Hefley as an expression of high regard by the Texas 16 House of Representatives.

> Coleman Truitt

H.R. No. 1645

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 1645

H.R. No. 1645

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1645 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House