RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 recognize Diana Cruz for her outstanding work in the office of
- 3 Representative Veronica Gonzales during the 81st Legislative
- 4 Session; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Ms. Cruz has distinguished herself as a participant
- 6 in the Texas Legislative Internship Program (TLIP) administered by
- 7 the Mickey Leland Center on World Hunger and Peace at Texas Southern
- 8 University; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Established in 1990, TLIP provides a unique
- 10 opportunity for students from Texas colleges and universities to
- 11 serve as interns in the Texas Legislature, in state agencies, and in
- 12 local government offices; students receive academic credit for
- 13 participating in the program, which combines study and research
- 14 with supervised practical training; Senator Rodney Ellis serves as
- 15 a program advisor, and his office assists with coordinating on-site
- 16 activities; and
- WHEREAS, A senior at Texas Woman's University with a 4.0
- 18 grade-point average, Ms. Cruz is majoring in government with a
- 19 legal emphasis and minoring in English and Spanish; she is a TWU
- 20 Presidential Scholar and has been named an Outstanding Legal
- 21 Studies Student by the university's history and government
- 22 department; moreover, Ms. Cruz is a member of Pi Sigma Alpha and
- 23 Barrister's and volunteers with Helping Hands; and
- 24 WHEREAS, During her tenure as a legislative intern, Ms. Cruz

- 1 has gained valuable work experience and firsthand knowledge of the
- 2 governmental process, while also developing insight into the
- 3 important issues facing our communities and our state; and
- WHEREAS, Diligent and resourceful, Ms. Cruz has skillfully
- 5 handled a variety of duties in the office of Representative
- 6 Gonzales and ably assisted in meeting the needs of constituents,
- 7 and she may reflect proudly on her service as a legislative intern;
- 8 now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby commend Diana Cruz for her tireless dedication
- 11 and exemplary work as a participant in the Texas Legislative
- 12 Internship Program and extend to her sincere best wishes for the
- 13 future; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for Ms. Cruz as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 16 House of Representatives.

Coleman Gonzales

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1652 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House