H.R. No. 1667

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize Gloria E. Lopez for her outstanding work in the office of 3 Representative Ana E. Hernandez during the 81st Legislative 4 Session; and

5 WHEREAS, Ms. Lopez has distinguished herself as a participant 6 in the Texas Legislative Internship Program (TLIP) administered by 7 the Mickey Leland Center on World Hunger and Peace at Texas Southern 8 University; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1990, TLIP provides a unique 9 opportunity for students from Texas colleges and universities to 10 11 serve as interns in the Texas Legislature, in state agencies, and in 12 local government offices; students receive academic credit for participating in the program, which combines study and research 13 14 with supervised practical training; Senator Rodney Ellis serves as a program advisor, and his office assists with coordinating on-site 15 16 activities; and

WHEREAS, A second-year student at the Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University, Ms. Lopez graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with a bachelor's degree in Spanish and government; she is a member of the Hispanic Law Student Association and, in her leisure time, she enjoys participating in community service, practicing yoga, and reading; and

23 WHEREAS, During her tenure as a legislative intern, Ms. Lopez 24 has gained valuable work experience and firsthand knowledge of the

1

H.R. No. 1667
1 governmental process, while also developing insight into the
2 important issues facing our communities and our state; and

3 WHEREAS, Diligent and resourceful, Gloria Lopez has 4 skillfully handled a variety of duties in the office of 5 Representative Hernandez and ably assisted in meeting the needs of 6 constituents, and she may reflect proudly on her service as a 7 legislative intern; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 9 Legislature hereby commend Gloria E. Lopez for her tireless 10 dedication and exemplary work as a participant in the Texas 11 Legislative Internship Program and extend to her sincere best 12 wishes for the future; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for Ms. Lopez as an expression of high regard by the Texas 15 House of Representatives.

Coleman

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 1667

H.R. No. 1667

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1667 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House