## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Twenty-one Texas A&M University students 2 providing valuable support to the 81st Texas Legislature while gaining experience in public service as members of the Agricultural 3 and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public 4 5 Policy Internship Program; and WHEREAS, For almost two decades, the ANRP Internship Program 6 7 has sent student interns to Austin and Washington, D.C., where they work on a wide array of issues; their strong background and interest 8 9 agriculture and natural resources allow them to offer
- 10 specialized knowledge to legislators; the program was founded in
- 11 response to a request by a member of the United States Congress for
- 12 an intern who could assist his office with these matters, and it has
- 13 since grown to include numerous congressional offices, as well as
- 14 the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture, the
- 15 U.S. Department of Agriculture, and offices on the state level
- 16 during legislative years; more than 325 students have participated
- 17 in semester-long internships; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The Public Policy Internship Program, established
- 19 in 1999, works with various colleges and departments to create an
- 20 interdisciplinary environment for comprehensive academic training,
- 21 research, and policy programming; interns in the nation's capital
- 22 and in Austin serve in a variety of settings that align with their
- 23 academic and professional goals; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Led by TAMU Policy Internship Programs Director

- 1 Breanne Svehla, both programs select their highly qualified and
- 2 dedicated members through a rigorous application process; in
- 3 addition to academic achievement, students must demonstrate their
- 4 potential to take full advantage of the opportunities for scholarly
- 5 and professional development, as well as the desire to serve our
- 6 state and nation; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The 2009 Texas A&M University policy interns serving
- 8 in Austin are: Jillian Arizpe, Jason Driver, Cameron Eckel, Jacob
- 9 Fowler, Nichole Gillen, Billy Hall, Spencer Harris, Melissa Jones,
- 10 Dayna Kaspar, Isaiah Logan, Chris McGhee, Nick Mikula, Sarah Novak,
- 11 Rusty Smith, Patrick Steck, Kelli Stoffels, Gavin Uttecht, Lauren
- 12 Wied, Bryan Wilganoski, Kelsey Wyble, and Shauna Yow; and
- WHEREAS, Through the years, the ANRP and Public Policy
- 14 Internship Programs have helped exceptional students deepen their
- 15 understanding of governmental operations while developing
- 16 professional skills and networks, and alumni have gone on to make
- 17 vital contributions and assume leadership roles in a variety of
- 18 arenas; the outstanding young people who are giving of their time
- 19 and talents throughout this legislative session can indeed take
- 20 pride in their achievements and service to the Lone Star State; now,
- 21 therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize the Texas A&M University Agricultural
- 24 and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and Public Policy
- 25 Internship Program and commend the current participants for their
- 26 diligence and commitment; and, be it further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for the ANRP and PPIP interns as an expression of high
- 2 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Swinford Chisum Kolkhorst Smith of Tarrant Truitt Brown of Kaufman Gattis Madden Smithee

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1699 was adopted by the House on May 7, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House