By: Swinford H.R. No. 1699

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Twenty-one Texas A&M University students are
 2 providing valuable support to the 81st Texas Legislature while
 3 gaining experience in public service as members of the Agricultural
 4 and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public
 5 Policy Internship Program; and
 6 WHEREAS, For almost two decades, the ANRP Internship Program
 7 has sent student interns to Austin and Washington, D.C., where they
- work on a wide array of issues; their strong background and interest 8 9 agriculture and natural resources allow them to offer 10 specialized knowledge to legislators; the program was founded in 11 response to a request by a member of the United States Congress for an intern who could assist his office with these matters, and it has 12 since grown to include numerous congressional offices, as well as 13 the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture, the 14
- 15 U.S. Department of Agriculture, and offices on the state level 16 during legislative years; more than 325 students have participated
- 17 in semester-long internships; and
- WHEREAS, The Public Policy Internship Program, established
- 19 in 1999, works with various colleges and departments to create an
- 20 interdisciplinary environment for comprehensive academic training,
- 21 research, and policy programming; interns in the nation's capital
- 22 and in Austin serve in a variety of settings that align with their
- 23 academic and professional goals; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Led by TAMU Policy Internship Programs Director

H.R. No. 1699

- 1 Breanne Svehla, both programs select their highly qualified and
- 2 dedicated members through a rigorous application process; in
- 3 addition to academic achievement, students must demonstrate their
- 4 potential to take full advantage of the opportunities for scholarly
- 5 and professional development, as well as the desire to serve our
- 6 state and nation; and
- WHEREAS, The 2009 Texas A&M University policy interns serving
- 8 in Austin are: Jillian Arizpe, Jason Driver, Cameron Eckel, Jacob
- 9 Fowler, Nichole Gillen, Billy Hall, Spencer Harris, Melissa Jones,
- 10 Dayna Kaspar, Isaiah Logan, Chris McGhee, Nick Mikula, Sarah Novak,
- 11 Rusty Smith, Patrick Steck, Kelli Stoffels, Gavin Uttecht, Lauren
- 12 Wied, Bryan Wilganoski, Kelsey Wyble, and Shauna Yow; and
- WHEREAS, Through the years, the ANRP and Public Policy
- 14 Internship Programs have helped exceptional students deepen their
- 15 understanding of governmental operations while developing
- 16 professional skills and networks, and alumni have gone on to make
- 17 vital contributions and assume leadership roles in a variety of
- 18 arenas; the outstanding young people who are giving of their time
- 19 and talents throughout this legislative session can indeed take
- 20 pride in their achievements and service to the Lone Star State; now,
- 21 therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize the Texas A&M University Agricultural
- 24 and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and Public Policy
- 25 Internship Program and commend the current participants for their
- 26 diligence and commitment; and, be it further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

H.R. No. 1699

- 1 prepared for the ANRP and PPIP interns as an expression of high
- 2 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.