H.R. No. 1701

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 welcome the Texas Association of Fairs and Events delegation to
- 3 Austin for Texas Fair and Event Day at the Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, The Texas Association of Fairs and Events has been
- 5 serving the fair and special events industry in Texas for more than
- 6 80 years and is celebrating this year with Fair and Event Day at the
- 7 Capitol on April 30, 2009; and
- 8 WHEREAS, For more than 100 years, fairs have showcased Texas'
- 9 finest agricultural products and technology and have provided
- 10 entertainment and educational and recreational opportunities; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Fairs are held throughout the state each year to
- 12 advance and promote the education of Texas youths and to affirm life
- 13 values; such events help to develop responsible and informed
- 14 citizens, particularly those in 4-H, FFA, and FHA, by providing
- 15 healthy competition through an unparalleled forum of exhibits in
- 16 arts, livestock, horticulture, and agriculture; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Fairs in Texas contribute millions of dollars
- 18 annually to young people through scholarships, premiums, and
- 19 auction proceeds; and
- 20 WHEREAS, There are also more than 200 events held in the Lone
- 21 Star State that benefit the tourism industry and commerce and
- 22 provide residents and visitors alike with enjoyable and educational
- 23 experiences; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 1701

- 1 Legislature hereby welcome and extend best wishes to the members of
- 2 the Texas Association of Fairs and Events delegation; and, be it
- 3 further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the Texas Association of Fairs and Events delegation
- 6 as a memento of this special occasion.

Flores

H.R. No. 1701

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

	ъ	3.7	-	70	
Η.	. K .	No.	- 1	70	1 (

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1701 was adopted by the House on April 30, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House