## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, National Safe Boating Week is being observed from May 16 to 22, 2009, to raise awareness about the importance of always wearing a life jacket on the water; and

WHEREAS, Recreational boating, including fishing and water skiing, is an immensely popular summer sport among Texans, and waterways can quickly become crowded, resulting in confusion, unforeseen risks, and, too often, tragedy; and

WHEREAS, According to the National Safe Boating Council, about 700 people die each year in boating-related accidents, and nearly 70 percent of these fatalities are caused by drowning; the vast majority of accidents occur because of human error or poor judgment and can be easily prevented; and

WHEREAS, It has been estimated that wearing a life jacket can reduce the number of boaters who drown by approximately 80 percent; although many boaters stow life jackets on board, there is rarely enough time to properly employ one in the event of an accident; in an effort to increase people's willingness to wear them, modern life jackets have been designed to be smaller, lighter, and more comfortable; and

WHEREAS, Boating accidents happen regardless of one's experience level, and wearing a life jacket is the most effective way to prevent drowning for veteran and novice boaters alike; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 1725

Legislature hereby recognize May 16 to 22, 2009, as National Safe Boating Week and encourage Texans to wear life jackets at all times while on the water.

Martinez Fischer

## H.R. No. 1725

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

H.R. No. 1725

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1725 was adopted by the House on May 6, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House